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Maryland State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program
Professionals
4201 Patterson Avenue — 4" Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21215
(410-764-5996)

INFORMATION FOR COMPLETING THE “GRANDFATHERED STATUS RESIDENTIAL
CHILD AND YOUTH CARE PRACTITIONER APPLICATION

A residential child care program is an entity that provides for children 24-hours per day care with
a structured set of services and activities that are designed to achieve specific objectives relative
to the needs of children serviced and that include the provision of food, clothing, shelter,
education, social services, health and mental health, recreation, or any combination of these
services and activities. All residential child care programs licensed in Maryland are required
to have a Certified Child and Youth Care Practitioner on staff. An individval must be
Certified by the State Board before an individual may work as a Residential Child and Youth
Care Practitioner in Maryland.

Effective October 1, 2015 all Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners (RCYCP), formerly
Known as “residential child care workers”, employed i the state of Maryland will be required to
be certified by the state Board before October 1, 2015, unless: the RCYCP is an employee of the
Maryland School for the Blind who is a residential child and youth care practitioner and holds a

current paraprofessional certificate. Health Occupations Article §20-301 (3).

The RCYCP is participating in a Board — approved training program that leads to certification
within 180 days of hire. Health Occupations Article §20-301 ().

“Grandfathered in” applicants are not required to take the Board approved training program
Sor certification”,

» The application must be typed or printed legibly. All items on the application form must
be completed, signed and dated. The application form must be notarized.

» All documents must be origmal, on the forms currently in use by the State Board and
submitted as a COMPLETE application packet. Incorrect and mcomplete applications
will delay the review and approval process. If you submit an ncomplete application, you
will be charged a $5.00 reprocessing fee. The State Board WILL NOT process an
application until it has received ALL required documentation.

» If an applicant FAILS to provide the required document (s) within 7120 days of the

application. The State Board may either administratively close the application or deny
the application, pursuant to COMAR 10.57.02.04.E.
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I.  Personal Information
Name — Your name will appear on all documents and correspondence as you list on the
application: (1) the name must be your_legal name, (2) the name on your driver’s license
or identification.

Maiden — include all past names used, such as maiden names, etc.
Social Security Number — You must provide your social security number.

E-Mail Address — The State Board disseminates all correspondence via electronic mail
(“e-mail”). Therefore, it is important that you provide and maintain a current email
address with the State Board.

Military Status

The Veterans Employment Act of 2013 became effective July 1, 2013 requiring specified
licensing units and Boards to give credit to former service members for relevant military
training, education, and experience in connection with the issuance of occupational and

professional licenses, certificates, and regulations.

“Service Member” means an individual who is an active duty member of:

e The Armed Forces of the United States
e A reserve component of the Armed Forces of the United States; or
e The National Guard of any State

“Veteran” means a former service member who was discharged from active duty under
circumstances other than dishonorable within one year before the date on which the
application for license, certificate, or registration is submitted.

“Veteran” does not include an individual who has completed active duty and has been
discharged for more than one year before the application for a license, certification,
or registration is submitted.

“Military Spouse” means the spouse of a service member or veteran,
“Military Spouse includes a surviving spouse of:

e A veteran; or
e A service member who died within one year before the date on which the
application for license, certification, or registration is submitted.

If you are requesting Veteran preference please include a copy of DD Form 214
If you are requesting Spouse preference please include a copy of DD form 2765
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Please provide all other information as requested m this section.

II. Educational Background
“Grandfathered in” applicants will need to provide to the Board a copy of therr high

school Diploma or GED. If the applicant has received a higher degree (such as a
Bachelor’s, Master’s or doctorate degree) the applicant will only need to submit a photo
copy of their degree.

Educational credentials from foreign countries must be evaluated by a State Board
approved education review service. The State Board has approved the following
education review services:
e International Consultants of Delaware, Inc. at 212-222-8454, extension 510
(icd@icdel.com)
e World Education Services, Inc. at 202.331.2925 (http//www. wes.org/).

IIl.  Licenses, Certifications, or Registrations Held
List all (active, inactive, or non-renewed) licenses, certifications or registrations held in
ANY state, including Maryland. Attach an additional 8 %2 sheet of paper if necessary.
You must indicate the type of license —e.g., Human Service work, etc. Verification of
Licensure, Certification or Registration must be provided to the State Board from
each issuing Entity. A State Licensure or Certification Affidavit may be downloaded
from the State Board’s website at htip/dhmh.maryviand cov/ercep. The Affidavit must be
completed by the issuing entity and returned to the State Board.

State Licensure or Certification Affidavit

As referenced in Section III of the application and information, a State Licensure or
Certification Affidavit must be completed by the issuing entity and returned to the State
Board for all Active, inactive, or non-renewed licenses, certifications or registrations held
by the applicant in ANY state, including Maryland. The form is available for download
on the State Board’s website.

IV.  Felony and Professional Charges and Convictions
Please answer all questions. For each question answered with a “yes” you must attach a
detailed explanation and frue test copy and final disposition, and should have the court
stamp on the documents.

State and National Criminal History Record Check

All individuals seeking certification from the State Board must submit to a State and
National criminal history record check (Health Occupations Article, §20-302C)and
approved private providers authorized pursuant to COMAR 12.15.05 to collect and
submit live fingerprints. Criminal history record information obtained is sent directly

to the State Board and to you. Information regarding your criminal history record check
that is received by the Board will not be made available to the private provider. The
State Board’s authorization number through the Criminal Justice Information System-
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Central Repository (CJIS-CR) is -0800001123. The Private Providers for fingerprinting
can be found on the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services website at
http://www/dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtml . The Criminal Justice
Information System — Central Repository number is 410-764-4501 — Toll Free: 1-888-
795-0011.

Although a receipt from the private provider or CJIS-CR is sufficient documentation that
you have initiated your criminal history record check, your application WILL NOT be
processed until the results of the criminal history background check are received by the
State Board. Positive results will require detailed explanations and court sealed records
forwarded to the State Board.

Consent for Release of Information/Background Clearance Request C hild Protective

Services Program

All individuals seeking certification from the State Board must submit a Child Protective
Services Background Clearance. Child Protective Background Clearance is completed
by the applicant and sent directly to the Department of Social Services in the jurisdiction
where the applicant lives. The form must be signed and notarized. 1f you have lived in
other states, you are also required to request the Child Protective Services from cach state
you have lived. The agency will mail or fax the findings to the Board. Positive results
will require detailed explanations and court sealed records forwarded to the State Board.

Residential Child Care Program Information
If you are affiliated with a residential child care program, you must provide the agency’s
name, mailing address, and indicate the licensing authority for the program.

Release to process Residential Child and Youth Care Application

All applicants must sign and date this section on the application. All applicants must
complete the Third Party Release, if you plan to use an intermediary to receive
information about the status of your application. (If you do not plan to use an
intermediary, please write N/A).

Active, inactive, or non-renewed licenses, certifications or registrations held by the
applicant in ANY state, including Maryland. The form is available for download on the
State Board’s website.

Affirmation and signature

This section affirms the information on the application, no willful misrepresentations or
falsifications and that the information is true and complete to the best of your knowledge
and belief. The State Board may verify any information on the application. Any willful
misrepresentation is cause for immediate denial of the application or later revocation of
certification.

Acknowledgment that the applicant has received, read and understands the Maryland
Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals Act. Further practice as
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a Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner without an active certificate is a violation
of the Maryland Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals Act.

In addition, this section provides information regarding the Notice of Mailing List. The
Information collected on the certification application form and the certification renewal
form is collected for the purpose of the State Board’s functions under the Maryland
Health Occupations Code Annotated Title 20. Failure to provide the information my
result in the denial of your application for mitial or renewal certification. You have the
right to inspect, amend, and correct mformation. The State Board may permit mspection
of this form, or make it available to others, only as permitted by Federal and State Law.
The State Board may sell or provide lists of certificate holders’ names and addresses to
professional associations and other entities. Under the Maryland Public Information Act,
Maryland State Government Code Annotated §10-617, you may request in writing your
name be omitted from such lists.

Please Note: Applicant must sign application in front of Notary. Notary must sign and

date, and place Notary Seal in circle, picture must be placed in box on the application.
Application will be mailed back if this information is missing.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

The State Board WILL NOT consider an application until it has received ALL required
Documentation. Incorrect and incomplete applications will delay the review and
approval process. If you submit an incomplete application, a $5.00 processing will be
charged.

Therefore, before submitting your application, please review the ftems below:

Answered all questions on the Certification Application, signed and notarized the

application

Copy of DD214 — Military Preference (if applicable)

Copy of Form DD2765 Identification and privilege card (if dpphccible)

Copy of appropriate educational diploma (s) and transcripts reflective of Associate’s

degree Bachelor’s degree or higher

Completed State Licensure or Certification of Affidavit and forwarded to issuing

entity (if applicable — if you hold any active, inactive, or non-renewed licenses,

certificates or registrations in any State)

[ Submitted a State and National Criminal History Record Check through the Maryland
CJIS operated live scan fingerprint site

0O Completed, notarized and mailed the Consent for Release of Information/Back ground

Clearance Request to your local DHR/Social Services in the jurisdiction where you

live

oOo0Oo 0Od

a
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O If you answered “yes” to any of the questions in the Felony and Professional Charges
and Convictions section, provide a detailed, written explanation, and a certified copy
of the police/court record and final disposition.

[0 Application fee of $50.00 - check or money order payable to BCRCCP

Additional forms to submit with this application:

1 Complete and have notarized the Affidavit for RCYCP Seeking Certification
0 Complketed On Site RCYCP Program Orientation form.

0 Completed Employment Verification form

STATE BOARD CONTACT INFORMATION
MAILING ADDRESS:

STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE PROGRAM
PROFESSIONALS
Attention: RCYCP Application Review
4201 Patterson Avenue — 4™ Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21215

PHONE: (410)764-5996 FAX: (410)358-5674 TTY FOR DISABLED: (800)725-2256

Website address: http://dhmh.marvland.cov/crcep
Email address: dhmh.crccpa@maryland.cov

RCYCP Application Instructions — 08/07/2014 1:50 PM. ' Page 6 of 6



Office Use Only

REC"D
FEE

PROCESSED
CHECK/MO

STATE OF MARYLAND
APPROVED [

DENIEDO]
CERTIFICATE #
CONTROL#_

REVIEWED BY

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

4201 Patterson Avenue®Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299

Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals
Phonee410-764-5996°Fax 410-358-5674

Website: http:/dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp *Email address: dhmbh.crecpaiwmaryland.goy

TTY for Disable: 1-800-735-2258

CERTIFICATION APPLICATION
RESIDENTIAL CHILD AND YOUTH CARE PRACTITIONER

SECTION I. PERSONAL INFORMATION
Please provide your LEGAL NAME

Last Name and Generational Indicator (JR. II etc.)
E i
First Name
I |

Middle Name (if applicable)

L |

Address

[ |
City State Zip Code

| | | |
Home Phone Work Cell

| | | ]
Email Address

[ |
Date of Birth — Month Date Year

f | | |

Social Security Number

Gender Male[d Female[J

Military Status
[JVeteran (within 1 year of honorable discharge) [JActive Service [IMilitary Spouse CIN/A
Identification — Please check all that apply

Hispanic or Latin origin [7 American Indian or Alaska Native [7
Asian 7 Black or African American [
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander [ White or Caucasian [



SECTION II. EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND

High School Diploma or Equivalency

Name of High School City and State High School Date Received
Diploma 7
GEDOT

College/University

Name of College or University City and State Associate’s [T Date of Graduation
Bachelor’s 7
Master’s [T

(Please write N/A if you do not have degree)

Applicants who graduated from a foreign educational institution that is a college or university located
outside of the geographical boundaries of the United States, should contact the Board about submitting
their transcripts.

SECTION III.
Licenses, Certificates or Registrations Held

State

License/Certificate | Type of License

Original

History of

Number License/Certificate | Discipline
Date
Yes[G NoO
YesO NoO

(Please write N/A if you do not have any Licenses, Certificates or Registrations)

SECTION IV:

Felony and Professional Charges and Convictions

Have you completed and forwarded the Consent for Release of Information/Background
Clearance form to your local jurisdiction where you reside for submission to the Board?

Yesd No[O

Have you completed the Criminal History Record Check through Livescan for submission to the

Board? Yes[3 No[J

Please answer “Yes” or “No” to the questions asked below and attach a written explanation for any
“Yes” answer. For questions #4 and #5 also provide a copy of (arrest and charges), court record and
final disposition. Answering “Yes” to a question will not necessarily cause the Board to reject your
application.
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YesOd | NoO 1. Have you provided professional services while under the influence of alcohol,
a narcotic, a dangerous substance or other drug that is in excess of prescribed
amounts?

Yesd | NoO 2. Has any State licensing or disciplinary board, or a comparable body in the
Armed Services denied your application for licensure, reinstatement, renewal,
or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to
reprimand, suspension, or revocation?

Yesd | NoOd 3. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a professional license due to violation
of State licensing law?
Yes[ | NoO 4. Have you pled guilty, to, nolo contendere, been convicted of, or received

probation before judgment for any criminal act (excluding misdemeanor
traffic violations)?

Yesd | NoO 5. Are there any outstanding complaints, investigations or charges pending
against you in any State by any licensing or disciplinary board or a
comparable body in the Armed Services?

Yesd | NoO 6. Has a malpractice suite been filed against you or has a claim for damages
been settled or awarded against you?

Yesd | NoO 7. Has the condition of your employment been affected by any termination of
employment, suspension, or probation for any reason related to your practice?

YesOd | NoO 8. Have you ever been denied a license, certification or registration to care for
children?

Yes[d | NoO 9. Have you ever been named as the perpetrator of child abuse or neglect by a
State agency after an investigation?

Yesd | NoO 10. Are you currently charged with a felony or misdemeanor?

Yes[d | NoO 11. Have you been addicted to the use of drugs or alcohol with the result that

your ability to practice your profession has been impaired?

SECTION V: RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE PROGRAM INFORMATION
Please identify the agency where you are currently employed as a Residential Child and Youth Care
worker.

| l

Agency Name Licensing Authority: DHRO DHMHO DIJSO

I |
Agency Mailing Address

| | I |
City State Zip Code

SECTION VI: Release to process Residential Child and Youth Care Application

[ agree that the State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals
(hereinafter “Board”) may request any information necessary to process my application for certification
as a residential child and youth care practitioner in Maryland from any person or agency, including but
not limited to former and current employers, government agencies, other licensing bodies and agencies,
and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information request. I also agree to
sign any subsequent releases for information that may be requested by the Board. I further agree that the
Board may release any information pertaining to the status of my application to the state licensing agency
of the residential child care program listed on my application.
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Signature Date

Third Party Release

(If you plan to use an intermediary fo receive information about the status of your application).

I agree that the Board may release any information pertaining to the status of my application to the

Jollowing person: (please write N/A if you do not want information released)

Name (Print)
Email Date
Applicant’s Signature Phone

SECTION VII: Affirmation and signature

1) Ihave read, and understand the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article 20, and
the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR 10.57, Maryland Certification of Residential Child

Care Program Professionals Act, posted on the Board’s website. YesT3 No[J

2) I understand that the State Board disseminates all correspondence via electronic mail (“e-mail”).

Correspondence includes, but is not limited to: Information regarding your application and
certification status, newsletters, transmittals, memoranda, notices, renewal information, etc.

Yesd NoO

[ hereby affirm that the information in this application contains no willful misrepresentation or

falsification and that the information given to me is true and complete to the best of my knowledge and
belief. T understand that the State Board may verify information on this application. I also understand
that any willful misrepresentation is cause for immediate denial of the application or later revocation of

the certification.

Name (Print)

Signature Date

Notary Public, Subscribed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on this day of

This space to contain a recent
passport type, full-face
photograph of applicant.

Notary Seal Photograph must be securely
taped in place.

Newspaper photograph, etc.. not
acceptable.
PLEASE DO NOT STAPLE
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MARYLAND STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION
OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE PROGRANM PROFESSIONALS

AFFIDAVIT FOR APPLICANTS SEEKING RCYCP CERTIFICATION

An applicant seeking certification as a Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner must execute and submit the following affidavit
with the application for certification:

STATE OF

COUNTY OF

| swear or affirm under the penalty of perjury that | do not now and | have not at any time, either as an adult or as a juvenile:

3 Been convicted of;

2 Plead guilty to (whether or not resulting in a conviction);

3. Pleaded nolo contendere or no contest to;

4. Admitted;

8! Had any judgment or order rendered against me (whether by default or otherwise);

6. Entered into any settlement of an action or claim of;

7. Had any license, certification, employment, or volunteer position suspended, revoked, terminated, or adversely affected
because of;

8. Resigned under threat of termination of employment or volunteerism for;

9. Had a report of child abuse or neglect made and substantiated against me for; or

10. Have any pending criminal charges against me in this or any other jurisdiction for;

Any conduct, matter, or thing (irrespective of formal name thereof) constituting or involving (whether under criminal or civil law of any

jurisdiction):

1. Any felony;

2. Rape or other sexual assault;

3. Physical, sexual, emotional abuse and/or neglect of a minor;

4, Incest;

5, Exploitation, including sexual, of a minor;

6. Sexual misconduct with a minor;

7 Molestation of a child;

8. Lewdness or indecent exposure;

9. Lewd and lascivious behavior;

10. Obscene or pornographic literature, photographs, or videos;

11. Assault, battery, or any violent offense invelving a minor;

12. Endangerment of a child;

13. Any misdemeanor or other offense classification involving a minor or to which a minor was a witness;

14. Unfitness as a parent or custodian;

15 Removing children from a state or concealing children in violation of a court order;

16. Restrictions or limitations on contact or visitation with children or minors resulting from a court order protecting a child or minor
from abuse, neglect or exploitation; or

17 Any type of child abductions.

>

Except the following (list all incidents, locations, description, and date). If none, write NONE.

The failure or refusal of the applicant to sign or provide the affidavit constitutes good cause to deny certification as a Residential Child
and Youth Care Practitioner.

Signed:

Subscribed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me this day of

Signature of Notary Officer:

Date:

(Seal, if any, of Notarial Officer)




STATE OF MARYLAND

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson AvenuesBaltimoreeMaryland 21215

State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals

MARYLAND STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE
PROGRAM PROFESSIONALS

EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION FORM
For Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners (RCYCP) applving for certification through
“orandfathered”clause

This form is to be used only if the applicant has been employed in a Residential Child Care Facility

as a Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner (formerly known as “child care worker”) prior

to October 1, 2013. This form must be completed by the Certified Program Administrator and the Human
Resources Department of the Residential Child Care Program where the applicant is currently employed and
submitted to the Board along with the RCYCP Application for Certification.

Name of Applicant

Name of Residential Child Care Facility

Address

|
City State Zip Code

Date of Hire (Applicant)
Month Date Year

Please Note: If applicant worked as a Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner since October 1,
2013, at more than one residential child care facility, please complete the information below. If this
does not apply, please write N/A

Name of Residential Child Care Facility

Address

| City State Zip Code

| Date of Hire (Applicant) | Las|t Date of Employment
Month , Date, Year Month, Date, Year

|

Phone=410-764-5996°Fax=410-358-5674° Website: hitp://dhmir.maryland eov/crecp Email address: dhmbh.creepaamaryland. goy
TTY for Disabled: 1-800-735-2258




I do solemnly declare and affirm under penalties of perjury, that the above statement(s) are true and
correct.

Name (Print) Program Administrator

Signature of Program Administrator — Certificate # Date

Name (Print) Human Resources Staff

Signature of Human Resource Staff Date

Phone=410-764-3996°Faxe410-358-5674¢° Website: hitp://dhmh.maryland. gov/crecp Email address: dhmh.creepaamaryland.gov
TTY for Disabled: 1-800-735-2258



STATE OF MARYLAND

DHMH

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson Avenue ® Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299

CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD
AND YOUTH CARE PRACTITIONERS
Process for Training and Certification

Per Senate Bill 576 of the 2010 Session of the General Assembly, all Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners
(RCYCP), formerly known as “residential child care workers”, employed in the State of Maryland will be required
to be certified by the State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals (the Board)
on or before October 1, 2015 unless:

1. the RCYCP is an employee of the Maryland School for the Blind who is a residential child and youth care
practitioner and holds a current paraprofessional certificate. (Health Occupations Article §20-301(i)).

2. the RCYCP is participating in a Board-approved training program that leads to certification within 180
days of hire. Health Occupations Article §20-301 (ii)

To become certified, RCYCP’s must participate in a Board-approved training program and pass an online Standards
Examination or 7 Module Tests with a minimum score of 75%. The purpose of the training program is to provide a
fundamental working knowledge of the varied aspects of performing the direct responsibilities related to activities of
daily living, self-help, and socialization to children and youth in residential child care programs.

An Online Residential Child and Youth Care Training Program and Study Guide will be available beginning early winter
2015.

Private Providers who are interested in developing their own Residential Child and Youth Care Training Program may
submit application to the Board for approval beginning December 2014.

After October 1, 2015, RCYCP’s will have 180 days from the date of hire to become certified as a practitioner. (This
means, staff hired in May 2015 must be certified as a practitioner by November 2015; staff hired in June 2015 must be
certified by December 2015, etc)

The only exception to the requirement for completion of a Residential Child and Youth Care Training Program and
taking the Standards Examination is:

e A RCYCP that can present satisfactory evidence to the Board that he/she has worked as an RCYCP in the State for
at least two consecutive years prior to October 1, 2015 can be grandfathered in and will receive their
certification without participation in an approved training program or taking the Standards
Examination. This certification will be contingent upon meeting the non- examination requirements contained in
the application for certification.

The only exception that allows an individual to take the Standards Examination without completing a training program
is:

Phone - 410-764-59962Fax 410-358-5674*Website — http://dhmh.marvland.gov/crecpEmail address: dhmh.crccpa@marylandl.gov
Toll Free-1877-4MD-DHMHe=TTY for Disabled-Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258




e An applicant who has an associate’s or bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university may take the
Standards Examination without participating in a training program. If the applicant fails the examination, then
participation in a training program may be required

Any individual with a disability may request, pursuant to COMAR 10.57.03.07 E, modifications in examination
materials or procedures upon written request to the State Board.

Please Note: All RCYCP candidates will complete a minimum of 10 hours of On-Site Program Orientation. This
orientation is a required component of the RCYCP Certification process. The orientation shall consist of an on-site
private provider orientation to program policies and procedures, the program culture, professional boundaries, and job
shadowing. A certified RCYCP Program Administrator will be required to sign a document that verifies completion of
the orientation. The On Site Program Orientation Form must be submitted along with the RCYCP Certification
Application.

THE ONLINE RESIDENTIAL CHILD AND YOUTH CARE TRAINING PROGRAM:
The Online RCYCP Certification Training Program will consist of 7 modules designed to ensure trainees have the
required fundamental working knowledge in the following areas: (1) the Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner,
(2) Child and Adolescent Development, (3) Communication Skills, (4) Life Skills Development, (5) Trauma, and (6)
Legal and Ethical Issues in Residential Care. (7) Standards of Health and Safety. Each module will begin with a pre-test
and end with a post test. The Online RCYCP Training Program consists of 20 contact hours of training. The Online
Residential Child and Youth Care Certification Training Program shall be taken by staff who:

A. Do not have an Associate’s or Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university
B. Are not participating in a Board approved PRIVATE PROVIDER training program
C. Do not meet criteria for grandfather clause

The additional required 10 hours of training will consist of an On-site Program Orientation that includes job shadowing,
and training on agency policies and procedures, organizational/program culture, and professional boundaries.
Verification of Onsite Program Orientation will be documented as part of the RCYCP Certification application.

The Online RCYCP Training Process for Certification:

I.  Upon submission of completed RCYCP Certification Application to the State Board, the application fee of
$50.00 and verification of On-Site Program Orientation, the RCYCP will be given access to the Online
RCYCP Training program through The University of Maryland - Institute for Innovations and
Implementation website.

II.  The RCYCP will complete each online training module in order (Module 1-7). Each Module will end with
review questions. The RCYCP must complete the full Module and review question before gaining access to
move to the next Module.

.  Upon completion of the Module 7 and the review questions, the RCYCP has fulfilled the training
requirements for certification. The RCYCP will print a Certificate of Completion and forward to the State
Board.

IV.  Upon receipt of the Certificate and all documents required for RCYCP Certification, the Board will forward
approval to the RCYCP to take the Standards Examination, along with test dates and locations.

V.  Once the RCYCP passes the Standards Examination with a minimum score of 75%, the RCYCP has
completed all requirements for Certification. The Board will generate a Residential Child and Youth Care
Practitioner License to the applicant. All certified RCYCP’s must complete a re-certification process every
two years to maintain certification.




THE PRIVATE PROVIDER RESIDENTIAL CHILD AND YOUTH CARE TRAINING
PROGRAM:

Private Providers may develop their own Residential Child and Youth Care Training Program. All Private Provider
RCYCP Training Programs must be approved by the State Board prior to implementation. The State Board will review
training program curriculum to determine conformity to the uniform framework and core competencies for direct care
workers.

The Private Provider RCYCP Training Program must consist of 7 modules designed to ensure trainees have the required
fundamental working knowledge in the following areas: (1) the Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner, (2) Child
and Adolescent Development, (3) Communication Skills, (4) Life Skills Development, (5) Trauma, and (6) Legal and
Ethical Issues in Residential Care. (7) Standards of Health and Safety. Each module will end with review questions.
The Private Provider RCYCP Training Program will consist of a minimum of 20 contact hours of training. The Private
Provider Residential Child and Youth Care Training Program shall be taken by staff who:

A. Do not have an Associate’s or Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university

B. Are not participating in the Online Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner training program

C. Do not meet criteria for grandfather clause

The additional required 10 hours of training will consist of an On-site Program Orientation that includes job shadowing,
and training on agency policies and procedures, organizational/program culture, and professional boundaries.

Verification of Onsite Program Orientation will be documented as part of the RCYCP Certification application.

The Private Provider Residential Child and Youth Care Certification Training Approval Process:

I.  Private Providers will complete the RCYCP Private Provider Training Program application that will be
posted on the State Board’s website. The Private Provider can also access the Guidelines for developing a
Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner Training Program from the website for guidance on what to
include in the training program.

II.  Private Providers should submit the completed application, the full RCYCP Private Provider Training
Program, and $150.00 application fee to the State Board for approval.

[II. A subcommittee designated by the State Board will review applications and make recommendations to the
State Board. Review dates will be posted on the State Board’s website. All applications must be received 30
days prior to the schedule review date.

IV.  If the subcommittee determines that the training program meets requirements, a recommendation for
approval will be forwarded to the State Board. If the State Board approves the training program, the Board
shall notify the Private Provider.

V.  If the subcommittee determines that the training program does not meet the requirements, the Board will
send notification to the Private Provider and explain what areas should be addressed. The applicant shall re-
submit their training program once deficiencies have been corrected.

VI.  Ifthe subcommittee determines the training program does not meet requirements upon correction of
deficiencies, the applicant may request a meeting of the subcommittee. Requests for meetings must be made
in writing and include the topics to be discussed. The State Board will not provide technical assistance in
developing training curriculum. After the third notice of deficiencies, the applicant must submit another
application. There will be a cost of $150.00.

VII.  All approved RCYCP Training Programs will be listed on the State Board’s website.

VIII.  Upon approval, the Private Provider may offer the RCYCP Training Program to RCYCP’s. Upon
completion of the RCYCP Private Provider Training, the RCYCP must submit Certificate of Completion to
the Board.




The Private Provider RCYCP Training Process for Certification:

2

Upon submission of completed RCYCP Certification Application to the State Board, the application fee
of $50.00, verification of On-Site Program Orientation and RCYCP Private Provider Training Program

Certificate of Completion, the RCYCP will be given approval to take the Standards Examination, along
with test dates and locations.

II.

The RCYCP will prepare for the Standards Examination via the RCYCP Certification Study Guide that
will be available to access from the Board website.

1.

Once the RCYCP passes the Standards Examination with a minimum score of 75%, the RCYCP has
completed all requirements for Certification. The Board will generate a Residential Child and Youth
Care Practitioner License to the applicant. All certified RCYCP’s must complete a re-certification
process every two years to maintain certification.

THE ONLINE STANDARDS EXAMINATION:

The Standards Examination is composed of 100 questions taken from the 7 modules of the Online Residential Child and
Youth Care Worker Certification Online Training Program. A Study Guide will be made available to RCYCP’s in
preparation for the Standards Examination. To pass the Standards Examination, a minimum score of 75% is required.
The Standards Examination will be taken by staff who either:

A.
B.

¢

have an Associate’s or Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university or
has completed the Community College of Baltimore (Catonsville) Child and Youth Care Practitioner

Certificate Program or
has completed a Board approved Private Provider RCYCP Training program

The Online Standards Examination Process:

L

Upon submission of a complete RCYCP Certification Application to the State Board, the application
fee of $50.00, verification of On-site Program Orientation, and verification of completion of a Board
Approved Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner Training (if applicable), the RCYCP will
be provided with logistics for taking the Standards Examination.

II.

The RCYCP must pass the Standards Examination prior to October 1, 2015. Effective October 1,
2015, the RCYCP must pass the Standards Examination within 180 days from the date of hire.

111

When the RCYCP has passed the Standards Examination, the RCYCP will print confirmation of
passing scores and forward to the State Board.

Iv.

Upon receipt of passing scores, the Board will generate a Residential Child and Youth Care
Practitioner License to the applicant. All certified RCYCP’s must complete a re-certification
process every two years to maintain certification.

Statutes and Regulations

Health Occupations Article: Title 20
Title 14 Subtitle 31 Chapter 5

Title 14 Subtitle 31 Chapter 6

Title 10 Subtitle 57 (Board Regulations)
http://dhmh.marvland.gov/crcep




STATE OF MARYLAND

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson AvenueeBaltimore, Maryland 21215-2299
State Board for the Certification of Residential Child and Youth Care Program Professionals

INFORMATION FOR RESIDENTIAL CHILD AND YOUTH CARE
CERTIFICATION FOR PRIVATE PROVIDER TRAINING CURRICULUM

November 1, 2014
Dear Training Provider Applicant:

Thank you for your interest in becoming a Private Provider Trainer for the Residential Child and
Youth Care Certification (RCYCP) program. This information is designed to assist private
providers to understand the requirements set forth in the relevant statutes and regulations
regarding Maryland’s Residential Child and Youth Care Certification program. Effective
October, 1, 2015, all Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners must complete a Board
approved training program to become certified in Maryland. Statutory authority is found in
Health Occupations ArticleTitle§20-302.02, (b) Successful completion of an approved training
program shall prepare an individual for certification as a residential child and youth care
practitioner. The regulations governing this program are found in COMAR 10.57.03.01.

PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS

Any individual or agency who has the resources to provide an RCYCP certification training
curriculum for Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners and agrees to adhere to the laws
and regulations governing this program may apply for private provider approval.

APPLICATION PROCESS

Complete the forms in the private provider approval packet and submit them along with all the
other required documents and a check or money order for $150.00 application fee payable to the
Maryland State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals,
(BRCCP). Please note, should you choose not to complete the application process or your
application does not meet the Board’s requirements, the application fee is non- refundable
and non- transferable, COMAR 10.57.07.02. Incomplete applications will delay the
processing of your application.

Phone - 410-764-5996°Fax-410-358-5674sWebsite - http://dhmh.maryland.gov/creep *Email address: dhmh.crecpa@maryland.gov
Toll Free 1877-4MD-DHMH*TTY for Disabled-Maryland Relay Services 1-800-735-2258




The following must be included in the application packet:

e Private Provider Application

e A check or money order payable to BCRCCP in the amount of $150.00
e Training curriculum for RCYCPs

e Facilitator notes

e  Number of training hours per session

e Detailed outline notes of session activity

Upon receipt of the completed application and all required documentation, it will be reviewed by
the Board’s Review Committee. The provider will be advised of the Committee’s
recommendation for approval.

If approved, after the RCYCP applicant has completed his/her training the Private Provider
must submit a certificate of completion for the applicant to the Board. The certificate shall
include shall include the following information:

Name of Private Provider Trainer

Name of Agency

Name of Participant

Date Certification Training was completed
Sample Training Certificate

RO R

TRAINING CONTENT

The content of all training curriculum must be relevant to the RCYCP’s core competency
requirements.

It is the responsibility of the Private Provider to clearly state in the application the training
description, training objective, and outline how the course content relates to the 20 hours of
CORE COMPETENCIES TRAINING REQUIREMENTS that include the following:

e Introduction to Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner
e Child and Adolescent Development

e Communication Skills

e Life Skills Development

e Legal and Ethical Issues

e Trauma

e Standards of Care

RCYCPs are also required to complete 10 hours of job shadowing and successfully complete

the following on-site requirements towards Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioner
Certification:

Page2 of 7



e Agency Policies and Procedures
e Organizational/Program Culture
e Professional Boundaries

The “Completion of On-Site Program Orientation” form must be submitted to the Board after the
applicant has completed their 10 hours. This form can be found on the State Board’s website.

Please Note: Should your application and training curriculum be approved, please not that
approval is solely granted for training that will prepare individuals to become certified as an
RCYCP.

Due to the extensive application review, program evaluation, the time of a response to your
submitted application may vary.

Should you have any questions concerning your provider application, or the evaluation process,
please contact me by phone at 410-764-5996 or via email at Gwendolyn.Joyner@maryland.gov.

Sincerely,

Gwendolyn A. Joyner
Deputy Director

Page 3 of 7



STATE OF MARYLAND

DHMH

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson Avenuee*Baltimore, Maryland 21215

For Board Use Only

Application#

Fee#

Date Received
Date Reviewed
Reviewed By

Meets  Criteriaz  Yes[J
NoO

Program ApprovedO
Program Deniedd

State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals

PRIVATE PROVIDER APPLICATION

Carefully review the enclosed application packet and submit this application by December 1,
2014. Be sure to include the course curriculum with the application. This application should be
typed. If more space is needed than provided on original, attach additional sheets and reference
the question being answered. Please refer to information page for a list of the required

documents to be submitted with this application.
L Contact and Private Provider Information

Private Provider’s Information

Last Name First Middle Initial
Agency Name
Agency Address
City State Zip Code
Phone (work) (cell) Email

II. Training Information
Training Location:
Methods of Instruction: (attach copies of training curriculum)

Phone-410-764-3996°F ax-410-358-5674=Website — htip://dhmh.marvland gov/crecp*Email address: dhmh crecpacomaryland gov

Toll Free 1877 — 4MD- DHMH®TTY for Disabled —Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258
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III. Private Provider
Please list the names and credentials of trainers to be approved: (include curriculum vitae and evidence of

expertise in the program areas). Please see study guide and outline for initial certification training on
the Board’s website at hitp:/dhmh.maryland.gov/creep .

Private Provider (Print)

L |

Private Provider (Print)

I certify that the training program’s core competencies described in COMAR regulations including any
attachments, meets the requirements established in COMARI10.57.03. 1 hereby attest and affirm that the
information included on this application, including any attachments, is true and accurate to the best of my
knowledge. I acknowledge that any approval issued pursuant to this application, including any
attachments, will be subject to revocation if approval was based on incorrect or inadequate information
that materially affected the decision to approve the application.

Private Provider

Signature Date

Private Provider

Signature Date

Page 5 of 7



APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Before you mail your application and fee, make sure you have:

Filled out all applicable sections of the application
Signed and dated the application

Made a copy of your application for your files
Enclosed Curriculum Vitae

Enclosed Training curriculum

$150.00 check or money order

OOoooaan

STATE BOARD CONTACT INFORMATION

MAILING ADDRESS:

STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD CARE PROGRAM
PROFESSIONALS
Attention: PRIVATE PROVIDER TRAINER APPLICATION REVIEW
4201 Patterson Avenue-4™ Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21215

PHONE: (410) 764-5996 FAX: (410) 358-5674 TTY FOR DISABLED: (800) 725-2256

Website address: http:/dhmh.marvland.gov/crecep
Email address: dhmh.crecpa@marvland.gov
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STATE OF MARYLAND

James T. Merrow

Executive Director

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
State Board for the Certification of Residential

Child Care Program Professionals

4201 Patterson Ave:, Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299

Office: 410-764-5911 Fax: 410-358-5674
E-Mail: James.Merrow@maryland.gov

STATE OF MARYLAND

1 &
[
s .

Gwendolyn A. Joyner

Deputy Director

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
State Board for the Certification of Residential

Child Care Program Professionals

4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21215-2299

Office: 410-764-5996  Fax: 410-358-5674
E-Mail: Gwendolyn.Joyner@ maryland.gov



STATE OF MARYLAND

DHMH

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
4201 Patterson Avenue © Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299
Martin O’Malley Governor - Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor — Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D., Secretary

State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals

Does Your Organization Have A
Computer Lab?

The State Board for Certification of Residential Child Care Program
Professionals is currently seeking locations to serve as Residential Child
and Youth Care Practitioners (RCYCP) Testing Locations for individuals
to take the Standards Examination for certification.

Space requirements:

» Minimum of 6 computers in one room
» Internet access
> Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome software

If your agency is interested in serving as a host site or you have additional questions, please contact
Gwendolyn Joyner, Deputy Director of the State Board for Certification of Residential Child Care Program
Professionals, at 410-764-5996 or Gwendolyn.joyner@maryland.gov no later than November 30, 2014.

Phone - 410-764-5996°Fax 410-358-5674eWebsite - http://dhmh.maryland.gov/creccpeEmail address: dhmh.crecpa@maryland.gov
Toll Free-1877-4MD-DHMH+=TTY for Disabled-Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258




) Maryland’s Human Services Agency

-
h ‘ Department of Human Resources Martin O'Malley, Governor | Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor | Theodore Dallas, Secretary

TO: All Providers
e
FROM: Darlene Hamj~
Executive Director, Office of Licensing and Monitoring

DATE: September 22, 2014

RE: DHR/OLM Incident Reporting — CPA Providers

This is a reminder of your responsibilities regarding the reporting of Agency Emergencies as
outlined in COMAR 07.05.01.08 A, which states that the agency is to notify OLM by phone
immediately and in writing within 48 hour of occurrence, of the following emergencies:

(a) The death of a child in foster care or receiving adoption services;

(b) Accident, assault, illness, or psychiatric episode of a child which requires hospitalization
or emergency medical care;

(c) Suspected incident of child abuse or neglect, including mental injury;

(d) Illegal activity leading to the incarceration of a child, parent, foster parent, guardian, or
adoptive parent; or

(e) Other occurrences which may affect the health, safety, or well-being of children in care
or receiving adoption services.

Please review the policies, current incident reporting form (dated 6/11/2013), and instructions for
correctly completing the incident report for children placed in your program by local Departments
of Social Services. These documents may be found by going to the DHR website,
http://dhr.maryland.gov, and clicking on “Licensing and Monitoring”, then click on Provider
Resources on the left side of the page. Once on the Provider Resource page click on “Critical
Incident Reporting”. Otherwise, the web address to the direct “Critical Incident Reporting” page
is http://www.dhr.state.md.us/blog/?page id=3683.

Also please note,

OLM prefers that you inform us of the Critical Incidents, in PDF form via e-mail at
olm.incidents @maryland.gov. You may also fax the reports to 410-333-8408. However, use one
method or the other -- DO NOT USE BOTH methods as this will skew your reporting statistics.

Please type the data describing the incident on the incident form (found on the website noted
above). OLM will no longer accept handwritten incident reports.

The following are ways that provider agency staff can correct the most frequent errors and
problems that our staff encounters as they review and document your reports. These errors skew
and compromise the integrity of the data.

Equal Opportunity Employer

General Information 800-332-6347 | TTY 800-925-4434 | 311 West Saratoga Street | Baltimore | Maryland 21201-3500 | www.dhr.maryland.gov



ml. Maryland’s Human Services Agency
" ‘ Department of Human Resources Martin O'Malley, Governor | Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor | Theodore Dallas, Secretary

Ways that provider agency staff can correct frequent errors and problems regarding
Critical Incident Reporting:

1. The correct form has a revision date of June 11, 2013 (a copy is found on the DHR website as
noted above). Please destroy all previous additions.

2. Provider Organization Name is the legal name of your organization. - This is not what your
program is known as/contracted name/etc. This is the legal/incorporated name.

3. If your program has multiple licensed offices, indicate the specific office address and CPA
home address for which the incident refers - the review and data entry of these reports are
completed by a different Licensing Coordinator each day, do not assume they are familiar with
your program or the nuances regarding which office the report may apply.

4. The date and time the incident is reported should reflect the date it was reported to OLM and
not internally to your administrators / supervisors. - The time and date should be the same as
the time and date the report was e-mailed or faxed to OLM, or called in to the Licensing
Coordinator for your program.

5. The child’s name should be listed as first name, last initial only.

6. The placing agency is the local Department of Social Services, (by county) or the Washington
D.C. agencies (CFSA or DYRS). - The placing agency is never your agency;

7. Be sure to check all of the incident type boxes that apply to the incident and that are described
in the narrative. - Most AWOLSs should have a corresponding “Police Involvement” box
checked.

8. Law enforcement information must be included, when police involved: police report #, district
name, badge #, date & time reported to police.

9. If using another agency’s form, please include information necessary for OLM such as date of
birth, name of Administrator and staff person(s) involved.

Finally, please ensure that ALL STAFF that are involved in the completion of the critical incident
reports in your organization are made aware of the policies and instructions pertaining to Critical
Incident reporting.

If you have any questions regarding the incident reporting policy, please contact your Licensing
Coordinator.

Equal Opportunity Employer

General Information 800-332-6347 | TTY 800-925-4434 | 311 West Saratoga Street | Baltimore | Maryland 21201-3500 | www.dhr.maryland.gov
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" ‘ Department of Human Resources Martin O'Malley, Governor | Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Govemnor | Theodore Dallas, Secretary

TO: All Providers

FROM: Darlene Ham?fh/
Executive Director, Office of Licensing and Monitoring

DATE: September 22, 2014

RE: DHR/OLM Incident Reporting — RCC Providers

This is a reminder of your responsibilities regarding the reporting of critical incidents as outlined
in COMAR 14.31.06.18 A (2). “Critical incidents” as defined by the Office of Licensing and
Monitoring:

(a) The death of a child or staff while on duty;

(b) Accident, assault, illness, or psychiatric episode of a child which requires
hospitalization or emergency medical care;

(c) Suspected incident of child abuse or neglect, including mental injury;

(d) An unauthorized absence of any duration that constitutes an immediate danger to self or
others;

(e) Illegal activity leading to the incarceration of a child, parent, guardian or staff person;

(f) Restraint of a youth; and

(g) Any programmatic, public health, or physical plant issue that could endanger or require
the removal of children for reasons of health or safety.

In addition, please also report any incident in which the child is restrained as defined in COMAR
14.31.06.03 B (36): “Restraint means a technique that is implemented to impede a child's
physical mobility or limit free access to the environment, including to chemical, mechanical or
physical restraints.”

Please review the policies, current incident reporting form (dated 6/11/2013), and instructions for
correctly completing the incident report for children placed in your program by local Departments
of Social Services. These documents may be found by going to the DHR website,
http://dhr.maryland.gov, and clicking on “Licensing and Monitoring”, then click on Provider
Resources on the left side of the page. Once on the Provider Resource page click on “Critical
Incident Reporting”. Otherwise, the web address to the direct “Critical Incident Reporting” page
is http://www.dhr.state.md.us/blog/?page id=3683.

Also please note,

OLM prefers that you inform us of the Critical Incidents, in PDF form via e-mail at
olm.incidents @maryland.gov. You may also fax the reports to 410-333-8408. However, use one
method or the other -- DO NOT USE BOTH methods as this will skew your reporting statistics.

Equal Opportunity Employer

General Information 800-332-6347 | TTY 800-925-4434 | 311 West Saratoga Street | Baltimore | Maryland 21201-3500 | www.dhr.maryland.gov
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Please type the data describing the incident on the incident form (found on the website noted
above). OLM will no longer accept handwritten incident reports.

The following are ways that provider agency staff can correct the most frequent errors and
problems that our staff encounters as they review and document your reports. These errors skew
and compromise the integrity of the data.

Ways that provider agency staff can correct frequent errors and problems regarding

Critical Incident Reporting:

2

10

The correct form has a revision date of June 11, 2013 (a copy is found on the DHR website as
noted above). Please destroy all previous additions.

. Provider Organization Name is the legal name of your organization. - This is not what your

program is known as/contracted name/etc. This is the legal/incorporated name.

. If your program has multiple licensed offices, indicate the specific office address and CPA

home address for which the incident refers - the review and data entry of these reports are
completed by a different Licensing Coordinator each day, do not assume they are familiar with
your program or the nuances regarding which office the report may apply.

. The date and time the incident is reported should reflect the date it was reported to OLM and

not internally to your administrators / supervisors. - The time and date should be the same as
the time and date the report was e-mailed or faxed to OLM, or called in to the Licensing
Coordinator for your program.

. The child’s name should be listed as first name, last initial only.

. The placing agency is the local Department of Social Services, (by county) or the Washington

D.C. agencies (CFSA or DYRS). - The placing agency is never your agency;

. Be sure to check all of the incident type boxes that apply to the incident and that are described

in the narrative. - Most AWOLSs should have a corresponding “Police Involvement” box
checked.

Law enforcement information must be included, when police involved: police report #, district
name, badge #, date & time reported to police.

The name of the Behavioral Intervention Protocol (the crisis intervention model your
organization uses) must be identified. - E.g., TCI, TACT2, Mandt, etc. when there is a
restraint. Please do NOT list the name of the protocol if the report is NOT concerning a
restraint.

. If using another agency’s form, please include information necessary for OLM such as date of

birth, name of Administrator and staff person(s) involved.

Equal Opportunity Employer

General Information 800-332-6347 | TTY 800-925-4434 | 311 West Saratoga Street | Baltimore | Maryland 21201-3500 | www.dhr.maryland.gov
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Finally, please ensure that ALL STAFF that are involved in the completion of the critical incident
reports in your organization are made aware of the policies and instructions pertaining to Critical
Incident reporting.

If you have any questions regarding the incident reporting policy, please contact your Licensing
Coordinator.

Equal Opportunity Employer

General Information 800-332-6347 | TTY 800-925-4434 | 311 West Saratoga Street | Baltimore | Maryland 21201-3500 | www.dhr.maryland.gov
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Best Practices for Working with LGBTQ
Youth in Care

M. Saida Agostini, MSW, LGSW
Director of LGBTQ Resources
FreeState Legal Project

FreeState Legal Project

is a legal advocacy organization that seeks to improve the
lives of low-income lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender,
queer, and questioning (LGBTQ) Marylanders.

www.freestatelegal.org

Works towards Provides educational

systemic law and policy trainings to schools,
changes through foster care workers and

governmental advocacy families, and juvenile

justice personnel.
Provides direct legal Conducts outreach

services to low-income activities designed to
LGBT clients through in- promote self-advocacy
house counsel and pro within the LGBT
bono attorney networks community, particularly

among LGBTQ teens
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Why Should I Care?

L

- |
raised in accepting home environments
are more likely to see themselves as happy adults.*

*Family Acceptance Project
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Outcomes

e Define key terms

e Understand the unique challenges and resiliencies of LGBTQ youth
¢ Review legal rights of LGBTQ youth within foster care

e |[dentify best practices

Building a Common Language:

Understanding Key Terms & Definitions
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“I have no family...I have no friends.
Everyone is always looking at me like
I'm an alien because | want to be the
female that | am . . .| need to be
given treatment and services specific
* to my needs. | need to deal with the
trauma I've experienced in my life.
This prison cannot do that for me.”
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Terms & Definitions: Gender

e Assigned Sex: The gender we are given at birth based on our
external reproductive anatomy

e Cisgender: When one’s assigned sex and gender identity
agree.

e Transgender: When one’s gender identity is different from their
assigned sex. _

e Gender Identity: An individual’s sense and experience of their
gender. Can be clear and stable, may be fluid.

e Gender Expression: How an individual demonstrates their gender

identity through clothing, mannerisms, and
other attributes.

e |dentity Attribution: How society perceives one’s gender identity
and sexual orientation based on a variety of
assumptions.

Transition

* Terms flor Girls: A child born with boy parts who identifies
as a gir
¢ Affirmed girl, trans girl, trans woman, male-to-female, MTF, girl, woman

e Terms for Boys: A child born with girl parts who identifies as a boy
e Affirmed boy, trans boy, trans man, female-to-male, FTM, boy, man

Transitions
e Social: Changing name, pronoun, dress and hair (presentation)

e Pharmacological: Blocking hormones of the birth sex and applying
hormones of the identified gender

e Surgical: “Top” or “bottom” surgery

* Legal: Changing name and gender markers on passport, driver’s
license, school records, etc.
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Terms & Definitions: Sexuality

e Lesbian:

° Gay:

® Bisexual:

® Transgender:

° Queer:

Women who are attracted emotionally and/or
physically to some other women.

People who are attracted emotionally and/or
physically to some individuals of the same gender.
Often used as an umbrella term.

People who are attracted to more than one gender.

An individual who identifies as a gender different
from the sex they were assigned at birth.

An umbrella term that can be used to identify one’s
sexuality, gender or gender presentation

f
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LGBTQ Kids Don’t Have It Easy

g\j

G

o We assume heterosexuality

We assume all people are cisgender

* We stereotype LGBTQ people

e Sexuality and/or gender identities that go
against societal norms are considered
phases

¢ Linking trauma and identity

e Little family support

e Few visible role models

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Self-
actualization:
achieving one's

full potential,
including creative
activities

Self-fulfillment
needs

Esteem needs:
prestige and feeling of accomplishment

Belongingness and love needs:
intimate relationships, friends

Safety needs:
sacurity, safety Basic
needs
| needs:

food, water, warmth, rest
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What we know:

e

: I ‘ ._"
Nearly 92% of all LGBTQ students have been verball
harassed, targeted and abused.

i

Students who have been victims of
bullying and harassment have been
reported to have higher incidences of §

and

Gay students are
to
than
other students
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Risk Factors: School

e LGBTQ Youth are 3 times more likely to be subjected to harsh
and unusual discipline in schools than their counterparts*

e LGBTQ students of color who experience bullying have a GPA
that is .5 lower than that of their heterosexual counterparts*

*National Resource Center for Youth Development & Council of State Governments Justice Centers

Risk Factors: Foster Care

° 26% of all LGBTQ youth report having to leave their family of origin
due to rejection of their gender identity and/or sexual orientation*

e 30% of LGBTQ youth report experiencing physical violence within
their family of origin after coming out

e 40% of all homeless youth identify as LGBTQ

» 78% of LGBTQ youth in foster care run away or are removed from

their placements due to hostility towards their perceived sexuality
and/or gender presentation

e Finding permanent placements for LGBTQ youth is much more
challenging.

*National Resource Center for Youth Development & Council of State Governments Justice Centers

f
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Risk Factors: Juvenile Justice

e Family rejection is the single §reatest predictor of involvement
in the juvenile justice system for LGBTQ youth*

* 39% of all homeless LGBTQ youth are arrested each year

* 13%-15% of all youth within the juvenile justice system are
LGTBQ (60% of which are youth of color

* Survival activities lead to criminalization and further trauma
* Risk life long classification as sex offenders
* At risk of isolation and/or segregation

*Equity Project

Risk Factors: Mental Health

e Straight/Cisgender youth perceived to be LGBTQ are at the same
risk*

* LGB youth are 2-3 times more likely to attempt
suicide

* 1in 2 transgender children have attempted suicide before age 20*

* LGBTQ more likely to report higher levels of substance abuse then
their heterosexual counterparts

e LGBTQ young adults who experienced rejection had higher levels of
depression and engagement in sexually unsafe behaviors.

f
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Resiliency Factors

e Kinship Networks
e Internet Access
e Adult Allies & Supporters

e Growing local and national resources

e Increased visibility
e Courage and Authenticity
e Legal Rights

LGBTQ Youth In Care

All youth in state custody have a right to be

Housing

Resource Families

safe in the facilities in which they are living.
Group Facilities must address instances of
school bullying and abuse experienced by
LGBTQ youth residents promptly.

Group homes are prohibited from using
isolation to protect LGBTQ youth from abuse.
Must treat LGBTQ youth equally and without
discrimination.

Rights to receive adequate physical and mental
health care, including transgender-related
healthcare.

Understand and work with diverse lifestyles
Provide a supportive emotional environment
Promote child’s self esteem and image
Maintain confidentiality and privacy

1l
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Each School’s Mandate

consequences are prompt and comprehensive.

Implement non-discriminatory policies around non-

curricular groups, athletic clubs and school
functions

Ensure individuals can utilize facilities (bathrooms,

locker rooms) that match their affirmed identity

and ensure

Make policy visible and available to all in school
community.

Annually solicit feedback from students, faculty and
parents through surveys and interviews

Implement non-violence and cultural humility trainings
for school community

Utilize restorative justice models

Coach students through the process of resolving
instances of bullying.

Designate an Extracurricular/Event Inclusivity Liaison
Use gender inclusive language

Educate coaches, club advisors and other stakeholders
on the rights of LGBTQ youth

Offer LGBTQ sensitivity trainings for students, parents
and staff

Starta GSA

Consider adopting policies that address the needs of
transgender and gender non-conforming youth

by Sl

Fairness for All Marylander’s Act

e Effective October 1, 2014

e Prohibits discrimination based on gender identity in public
accommodations, labor & employment, and housing.

12



10/8/2014

Best Practices for Individuals

e Tuning into self: What are your values and triggers?
e Validate the youth’s experience

e Ask Preferred Gender Pronouns (PGPs)

e Use non-gendered language

e Know the rights of LGBTQ youth

e Have visible symbols of diversity around your office
e Maintain confidentiality as much as possible

* Be an advocate
e Affirm young people’s authentic self expression #

13
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Best Practices

e Help family members understand their roles
e Recruit LGBTQ resource families

e Talk with resource families about their possible responses and
reactions if their child is gender non conforming or LGB

e Host conversations and trainings for staff, families and youth

e Have suE ort groups for LGBTQ youth and resources families
with LGBTQ youth

e Know LGBTQ resources within the region

e Educate 3l/ourself and others on the diffe;'ence between “normal”
and developmentally appropriate behaviors

 Implement LGBTQ inclusive policies; survey youth and staff

f
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Gabriel

Gabriel has had a great relationship with
his resource family for the past six months.
His foster dad has recently found out that
Gabriel’s best friend is gay, and is
extremely upset. He has confronted
Gabriel about his sexuality, demanded that
he give up his friend, and will no longer let
Gabriel babysit his younger brother,
claiming that he may put him around “gay
stuff”. The dad has come to you and stated
that he is thinking about giving up custody
of Gabriel.

Reflection Questions

e What are the presenting issues?

¢ How do you think the young person is feeling?

* How do you think the father is feeling?

* How can you make sure this young person is safe and loved?
® How do we promote attachment?

e What is this young person at risk of?

e What is an appropriate plan of action?

15
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Kira

Kira is a 14 year old living in your group
home for boys. Kira likes to wear long braids,
nail polish and more feminine clothing. Kira
does not like to be referred to by their birth
name. Kira comes to you one day
complaining of being verbally and physically
harassed by staff members and other
residents for being a “sissy”. Kira has stated
feeling depressed and isolated.

Reflection Questions

e What are the presenting issues? (organizationally, culturally,
residents)

* How do you think the young person is feeling?
* How can you make sure this young person is safe?

e What are some issues that can/will come up for the staff and
residents?

e What is an appropriate plan of action?
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Resources

® FreeState Legal Project: freestatelegal.org

e Gay & Lesbian Straight Education Network: glsen.org

e GLAAD: glaad.org

e Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
e Lambda Legal: lambdalegal.org

e Equality Maryland

e Trans Athlete: transathlete.com

' ecazs i W ansn !

Ll

sagostini @freestatelegal.org

'
A4 & i oy s el B3 &4
410.025.5420
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